Skip to content

Mapping my Hikes

January 28, 2015

image

The phone app StepWalk has been fun to play with over the last month. It tracks my hikes and includes fun dog prints along the route. This is a screenshot of a hike in the town forest of Hollis, NH which is right out my back door. In the winter when I have Hike a Pup dogs I cut through the woods off trail in big loops that only I can figure out! For a while the swamp which is usually impassable was covered in smooth ice all the way to the edges. Over years of hiking I have battled that swamp in deep snow, mush and the risk of sinking deep into muck. I love adding it to winter hiking because being in the open with sunny, blue skies for part of the hike is pure pleasure.

I also tried Runtastic during the same hike. I was cutting across a swamp for a large part of the hike and you can’t really see that in either map.

image

From → Uncategorized

One Comment
  1. I’ll have to check out those apps. My wife is a Scientist and loves keeping track of data like that after hikes.

Leave a Reply

BillHillmann.net

Retriever Training with Bill Hillmann

Debra Paulson

Reflections on a Life in Motion

M. K. Waller

~ Telling the Truth, Mainly

Outdoors Indoors--Bringing the Outdoors Indoors to Enjoy

A site for outdoor enthusiasts who love hiking, nature, dogs and photography. Woodmont Labrador retrievers posts are now included here.

Labrador Mama

For dog lovers and labrador owners. All furry babies welcome.

Megan Has OCD

About Mental Health, Daily Struggles, and Whatever Else Pops in My Head

Ruby the black labrador

Journal of a dog's life and other musings

rachelmankowitz

The Cricket Pages

ghostnapped

Ashley Howland Author WordPress.com site