Skip to content

Just Another Day Getting Almost Lost

March 12, 2014
Dogs ahead! Can we go meet them?

Dogs ahead! Can we go meet them? Cabot and Ketli check back with me. Emma charges forward.

Okay. Who are you all?

Okay. Who are you all?

Enough of that. Let's get moving.

Enough of that. Let’s get moving. Ketli is usually first. She must have stopped to play in a puddle!

We hiked at Birch Hill in Hollis yesterday on snowmobile trails that have replaced trails I used to hike on. Because so much logging was done it was hard to figure out where I was in relation to the car once we ventured up the Vista Trail and hunted around a bit at the top.

The hunter we had met told me the Loop Trail was 45 minutes long so I figured we had done 10 minutes of it and had 30 minutes back to the car. I thought the terrain would be easy. I did not remember hills in that area. Well, seems I was disoriented for a bit. We hiked up hill after hill without even seeing landmarks that I knew. Then we ran into a road. I did not even know what road it was. But I kept going, and going and going hoping we would find something I knew soon. If not, we were going to have to backtrack a long way. (like we did on some Monson Trails across the street over the weekend).

Finally we got back to an intersection just 5 minutes from the car. It was a long and interesting hike. I love returning to trails I used to hike frequently. It’s like meeting up with an old friend again. But this old friend had a makeover and was barely recognizable.

One Comment
  1. Pat Garrity Owner Riverview Labradors, love what you do for
    all dogs around you.

Leave a Reply

BillHillmann.net

Retriever Training with Bill Hillmann

Debra Paulson

Reflections on a Life in Motion

M. K. Waller

~ Telling the Truth, Mainly

Outdoors Indoors--Bringing the Outdoors Indoors to Enjoy

A site for outdoor enthusiasts who love hiking, nature, dogs and photography. Woodmont Labrador retrievers posts are now included here.

Labrador Mama

For dog lovers and labrador owners. All furry babies welcome.

Megan Has OCD

About Mental Health, Daily Struggles, and Whatever Else Pops in My Head

Ruby the black labrador

Journal of a dog's life and other musings

rachelmankowitz

The Cricket Pages

ghostnapped

Ashley Howland Author WordPress.com site