Skip to content

New Hampshire Life…Down, Dirty, Dying and Getting Cold

September 20, 2013
Time for hunting vests. Luckily I had one that would fit Ketli this season.

Time for hunting vests. Luckily I had one that would fit Ketli this season.

Winter is coming. Windows need to be closed as evening arrives. Mornings are frigid. And the days are getting shorter… darker earlier and earlier. I guess the Autumnal equinox is this weekend. We need to clear out the garage so that we can start parking our cars in it again… we hate scraping frost off in the mornings when we are racing out somewhere. Sometimes I just blast the defroster and drive with my head hanging out the side window for the first few minutes of the drive.

One of my long time friends recently called me a hick… I think it was a compliment. She is shocked and humored at some of my outdoor shenanigans. Most people are. No one in my family is like me. They don’t own hiking boots or dogs or hunting vests. Are people surprised at all that you do outdoors?

Image

Driving on dirt roads… Almost did not make it through a deep puddle in Brookline, NH this week. I LOVE my four wheel drive. Sam can’t get over how dirty it is when I get home from some hikes. I say, “If I have to drive on dirt roads through deep puddles to get to a hike then less people will be there..just what we like.”

Actually this set of hiking trails can be assessed without having to go on dirt roads. I just wanted to get further in and closer to the hills for my workout.

Running through the cool grass near a swamp. I am glad they did not plow into the muddy, smelly swamp that day.

Running through the cool grass near a swamp. I am glad they did not plow into the muddy, smelly swamp that day.

Our hike near the rail trail in Brookline, NH was hotter than we expected. I lugged lots of water for the dogs. When we got to this spot and I pulled the bowl and water out of my pack Emma just laid down to drink from it. Poor old girl. She just won’t stay home from hikes.

Rest Pause on our hike on the trails off Hutchinson, Road in Brookline, NH.

Rest pause on our hike on the trails off Hutchinson, Road in Brookline, NH.

Flowers that should have been deadheaded more often this year. Cold nights mean we are about to lose our color and become gray, brown and black for the winter.

IMG_8007

Dying garden.. well, not really. These perennials should raise their pretty heads next summer. Maybe I will be better at keeping up with deadheading when Ketli is a year old!

IMG_8013

Large firewood delivery for the woodstove. Our family room has been so cold in the mornings that I am tempted to light it.

I am such a stubborn, frugal New Englander. I try not to turn the heat on until November. That means bundling up, especially in the mornings. I think I usually give in and turn it on for the coldest days in mid-October.

I dug out my wool gloves to type on my laptop  as the house gets colder and colder.

I dug out my wool gloves to type on my laptop as the house gets colder and colder.

Socks on top of socks on top of socks. Brr.

Socks on top of socks on top of socks. Brr.

One Comment
  1. Anonymous permalink

    Sorry for the ads. An unwanted addition that WordPress made.

Leave a Reply

BillHillmann.net

Retriever Training with Bill Hillmann

Debra Paulson

Reflections on a Life in Motion

M. K. Waller

~ Telling the Truth, Mainly

Outdoors Indoors--Bringing the Outdoors Indoors to Enjoy

A site for outdoor enthusiasts who love hiking, nature, dogs and photography. Woodmont Labrador retrievers posts are now included here.

Labrador Mama

For dog lovers and labrador owners. All furry babies welcome.

Megan Has OCD

About Mental Health, Daily Struggles, and Whatever Else Pops in My Head

Ruby the black labrador

Journal of a dog's life and other musings

rachelmankowitz

The Cricket Pages

ghostnapped

Ashley Howland Author WordPress.com site