Skip to content

Eastern Rocky Mountain State..the Granite State

September 2, 2013

NH Stone Wall

Found any good rocks lately? New Hampshire’s tallest mountain, Mount Washington, has a nickname that I never knew until I climbed it rock by rock by rock. The Rockpile. If you’ve climbed it you know why.

—When I was little, I was the black sheep of my family because I loved to explore the world outside. I remember in fourth grade we had the traditional study of rocks and minerals. I proudly carried around my self-made collection kit containing a hammer, a magnifying glass, a dull knife, rags to wrap the rocks in and an egg carton for organizing. I felt like a real scientist as I used my magnifying glass and consulted my mini field guide so I could label my precious collection…

Having a hammer gave me power. I thought I could do anything if I had the power to break rocks. Rock-chopping brought me comfort for reasons I never thought to analyze…

Colors found in Rocks

Large crystals show slow cooling.

Large crystals show slow cooling.

I still pick up rocks to bring home. The little girl in me still searches for unique rocks, thinking that maybe I’ll uncover hidden treasure on the trails of New Hampshire.

I miss my rocks in the winter. When the snow begins to melt, our New England rock walls begin to emerge from their cover. Gradually, the multitude of rocks along trails and in my garden reappears. For seven or eight months I will have another of nature’s wonders to pick up, look at, and either toss or bring home to add to my adult rock collection.—from my article published in the Foster’s Daily Democrat...fosters.com.

Click here to read more.

Moss covered rock

One Comment
  1. Sam permalink

    Yes, I know about all the rocks you bring home. And now you even have a rock in Ketli’s bowl so she has to eat around it to slow her down.

Leave a Reply

BillHillmann.net

Retriever Training with Bill Hillmann

Debra Paulson

Reflections on a Life in Motion

M. K. Waller

~ Telling the Truth, Mainly

Outdoors Indoors--Bringing the Outdoors Indoors to Enjoy

A site for outdoor enthusiasts who love hiking, nature, dogs and photography. Woodmont Labrador retrievers posts are now included here.

Labrador Mama

For dog lovers and labrador owners. All furry babies welcome.

Megan Has OCD

About Mental Health, Daily Struggles, and Whatever Else Pops in My Head

Ruby the black labrador

Journal of a dog's life and other musings

rachelmankowitz

The Cricket Pages

ghostnapped

Ashley Howland Author WordPress.com site