Skip to content

Puppy Training or Not?

August 23, 2013

Image

This morning I decided to begin to teach Ketli, my chocolate Labrador retriever puppy, to lie down. She does sit(most of the time.) Since we gave her the name, Ketli, recently she seems to hear it sometimes and not others. Hmm. She seems to have selective hearing just like a toddler.

I locked the two big dogs in the house, gave the puppy her breakfast and then tried the “Down” command. Her attention was wandering but I got her to go down four times by sliding her front paws forward. She is not a natural. She started wandering off even though I still had treats in my hand so I decided that I need to train her when she is hungry, not when she has a full belly. Her puppy roly poly belly is so big. The vet had her checked for worms (luckily she had none).

Wish me luck.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

BillHillmann.net

Retriever Training with Bill Hillmann

Debra Paulson

Reflections on a Life in Motion

M. K. Waller

~ Telling the Truth, Mainly

Outdoors Indoors--Bringing the Outdoors Indoors to Enjoy

A site for outdoor enthusiasts who love hiking, nature, dogs and photography. Woodmont Labrador retrievers posts are now included here.

Labrador Mama

For dog lovers and labrador owners. All furry babies welcome.

Megan Has OCD

About Mental Health, Daily Struggles, and Whatever Else Pops in My Head

Ruby the black labrador

Journal of a dog's life and other musings

rachelmankowitz

The Cricket Pages

ghostnapped

Ashley Howland Author WordPress.com site