Skip to content

Summer Garden Party?

July 15, 2013

Image

Every year my gardens have a life of their own. Flowers come and go. Tomato plants grow vigorously or they are just duds. Some years the garden is weedy and some years I seem to keep ahead of the weeds. Summer gardens in New England often begin to look dreary if you have not planted annuals to add color until late fall. (At least in mine because my success with perennials can’t be relied on.)

A couple of years ago I wrote an article for the UNH blog, NH Outside, about my summer garden that year.

I ran out today to take a phone photo of the current state. Here is a photo of the area where my garden party had taken place when I wrote the essay. I am embarrassed to post it…

Poor lighting for a photo right now. But I wanted to give you a comparison.

Poor lighting for a photo right now. But I wanted to give you a comparison.

Summer Garden

This spot gives me more pleasure right now. How is your garden doing this summer?

2 Comments
  1. I wish I had more time to garden, your garden looks great!

    • Thanks, Peter. There are not as many weeds as usual this year because there is sooo much bark mulch. (story for another blog post…) I am not sure which years my garden looked its best…probably not the years when I had a 5, 7 and 9 year old. The house where we raised our kids from birth had one stab at a perennial garden and a mailbox area that looked great. (We loved the coreopsis that thrived on our mailbox pole and have never been able to find it again) Start small and enjoy.

Leave a Reply

BillHillmann.net

Retriever Training with Bill Hillmann

Debra Paulson

Reflections on a Life in Motion

M. K. Waller

~ Telling the Truth, Mainly

Outdoors Indoors--Bringing the Outdoors Indoors to Enjoy

A site for outdoor enthusiasts who love hiking, nature, dogs and photography. Woodmont Labrador retrievers posts are now included here.

Labrador Mama

For dog lovers and labrador owners. All furry babies welcome.

Megan Has OCD

About Mental Health, Daily Struggles, and Whatever Else Pops in My Head

Ruby the black labrador

Journal of a dog's life and other musings

rachelmankowitz

The Cricket Pages

ghostnapped

Ashley Howland Author WordPress.com site