Skip to content

Green Blob Thingie Seed Pod?

June 9, 2013

20130609-095630.jpg

Help. What is this mysterious green, gelatinous globe seed pod, flower, fruit? In May and June I find them on the ground. I have never seen them still attached to their tree. So I am including a photo with two types of leaves from trees right above this one that I found this spring. They are often lying on the ground alone.. I have only found one group these green, dotted balls lying around over a period of about five years.

These mystery balls are the bane of my existence every spring. I have hunted through filed guide books and on- line resources. I have not submitted a photo to anyone to identify for me yet I was hoping one of you might know.

20130609-103854.jpg

20130609-103944.jpg

20130609-104033.jpg

The acorn in the photo may or may not be from the same tree. It is from last autumn. Send me a photo if you have one of the green thingies still hanging in a tree. Thanks!

6 Comments
  1. Peter, This is the only Hawthorn tree that arborday.org listed. It grows in the right zone for New Hampshire but the green blobby thing tree does not have flowers like this.

  2. Sam permalink

    Leave it to you to bring home green blob thingies from hikes year after year until you figure out what they are!

    • Yes. Pretty persistent to the point of obsession sometimes. I have others on my, “What the heck is this? I can not find it in a field guide,” list. Stay tuned for the elusive purple mushroom.

  3. Thanks Peter. I will try it. I swear I looked up Hawthorne trees but I will try again as I respect your suggestions.

  4. The website arborday.org might help. The oval shaped leaf looks like a Hawthorne to me, but I’m no expert!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Mystery Tree in my Backyard | Outdoors Indoors

Leave a Reply

BillHillmann.net

Retriever Training with Bill Hillmann

Debra Paulson

Reflections on a Life in Motion

M. K. Waller

~ Telling the Truth, Mainly

Outdoors Indoors--Bringing the Outdoors Indoors to Enjoy

A site for outdoor enthusiasts who love hiking, nature, dogs and photography. Woodmont Labrador retrievers posts are now included here.

Labrador Mama

For dog lovers and labrador owners. All furry babies welcome.

Megan Has OCD

About Mental Health, Daily Struggles, and Whatever Else Pops in My Head

Ruby the black labrador

Journal of a dog's life and other musings

rachelmankowitz

The Cricket Pages

ghostnapped

Ashley Howland Author WordPress.com site