Skip to content

Mapping Your Way. How do you do it?

June 8, 2013

20130609-110559.jpg
This is a map to someone’s house that I found in our files. I wonder if I would use Google maps, Mapquest or a GPS to get there now. I do not really trust them. I like the big picture.

Submit your maps to share with us.

I get a kick out of the scribbled maps I make when I am hiking in a location that always seems to trick me. I think I am going to a certain point and I end up somewhere else…often turned around and trying to figure out which direction to head. Frustrating.

You should see my maps. Send me a map you have made while hiking, or drawn to give a friend directions. Or post it in the comment section. If you have not done one yet draw one from memory at home. Then go out to see how well your map would work for you or anyone else in finding their way.

The way we all remember is fascinating. I have a theory that some of us have “mind maps” of the places we hike. We map our trails in whatever way helps our memory. You might need landmarks, I might need distances, someone else might need time between turns. Can anyone who picks up your map figure out your symbols or do you provide a key?

I can’t wait to hear from you and share your individual mapping strategies. How alike or different will they be?

Gardeners, do you map your gardens? How?

Send samples to hikeapup@gmail.com

20130609-104852.jpg

This is a map made for a dog care provider so that he could take two Golden Retrievers out the back door and connect directly into a town forest trail system by using a route tagged by the dogs’ owner. Color coded with pink and orange to show two different trails that stay off the trail system but allow lots of exercise, exploring and seasonal nature to investigate. He chose to enter the trail system at the end of the road( one house away) at the designated public entry. I guess he thought my map (yes, mine) might get him lost. My husband agrees.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

BillHillmann.net

Retriever Training with Bill Hillmann

Debra Paulson

Reflections on a Life in Motion

M. K. Waller

~ Telling the Truth, Mainly

Outdoors Indoors--Bringing the Outdoors Indoors to Enjoy

A site for outdoor enthusiasts who love hiking, nature, dogs and photography. Woodmont Labrador retrievers posts are now included here.

Labrador Mama

For dog lovers and labrador owners. All furry babies welcome.

Megan Has OCD

About Mental Health, Daily Struggles, and Whatever Else Pops in My Head

Ruby the black labrador

Journal of a dog's life and other musings

rachelmankowitz

The Cricket Pages

ghostnapped

Ashley Howland Author WordPress.com site