Skip to content

Wildflowers: Texas wildflowers

June 1, 2013

Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center, Hill Country Texas, one hour outside of Austin. Garden exhibits and naturalized countryside trails.

I visited San Antonio and Austin Texas this spring. I stopped at Lady Bird Johnson’s Wildflower Center on my way to see the LBJ Texas White House (ranch).

Living in New Hampshire I wondered why on earth they called the area the Hill Country. But as I got further from Austin very small rolling hills arose. The breathtaking sight along the roadsides were the wildflowers lining the road for miles. Now I could see Lady Bird’s wildflower initiative all around me.

Texas climate allows the perennials we work so hard to nurture in New England to bloom profusely in the countryside.

IMG_2397

IMG_2405

IMG_2407

IMG_2408

IMG_2410

IMG_2422

IMG_2433

IMG_2434

IMG_2437

IMG_2439

Recycled glass used instead of bark mulch, stones etc..I love glass. Not sure I could save this much before my husband would move out.

This birdbath was so pretty.

IMG_2428

IMG_2399

Taken with my smartphone. I amazed myself.

IMG_2444

IMG_2417

2 Comments
  1. Thanks for including my blog in your links. That blog post (Wildflowers..Texas Wildflowers) was one of my most detailed with a few links included. My trip to see my daughter in Austin was right after our trip to Myanmar and Thailand. Since it was muddy and gray up here in New Hampshire going to Texas at that time of year was a great change. I missed 4 weeks of winter up here last year.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. April in Texas: A Mild Madness | To write is to write is to write

Leave a Reply

BillHillmann.net

Retriever Training with Bill Hillmann

Debra Paulson

Reflections on a Life in Motion

M. K. Waller

~ Telling the Truth, Mainly

Outdoors Indoors--Bringing the Outdoors Indoors to Enjoy

A site for outdoor enthusiasts who love hiking, nature, dogs and photography. Woodmont Labrador retrievers posts are now included here.

Labrador Mama

For dog lovers and labrador owners. All furry babies welcome.

Megan Has OCD

About Mental Health, Daily Struggles, and Whatever Else Pops in My Head

Ruby the black labrador

Journal of a dog's life and other musings

rachelmankowitz

The Cricket Pages

ghostnapped

Ashley Howland Author WordPress.com site