Skip to content

Family Members…Dogs

April 27, 2013

Dogs come into your lives in many ways.

Jasper was a stray. My husband and I had only been married for a few years and a college friend living in a nearby town called us to tell us he was sheltering a stray dog looking for its owner. He asked if we wanted to come over to meet the dog so that we could consider adopting him if no owner claimed him. We had never considered adopting a stray this early in our marriage. We were free. We had few obligations yet and we wanted to keep it that way. But we went to meet the dog anyway.

Jasper 1985

And we adopted him about a year before Jeanette was born in 1984. This is Jasper with Jeanette in 1985.

Scanned many, many photos and I can picture a few of Jasper in the yard of our first house in Westford, Ma. in 1984. I just can’t find them. We had a flood in our cellar a year ago and photos and negatives that we had not get scanned were ruined. I am hoping those photos were not in the ruined ones.

Jasper had a mellow personality. He fit in well everywhere. People who don’t even like dogs wanted to clone Jasper so they could get a wonderful dog too.

But Jasper still got into trouble.

But Jasper still got into trouble.

He was a subject of artwork.

He was a subject of artwork.

Jasper 1987

Jasper 1987

Jasper and extended family. 1989

Jasper and extended family. 1989

Jasper 1986

Jasper 1991

Jonathan and Jasper 1993

Jonathan and Jasper 1993

So handsome.

So handsome.

xmas032

Towards the end he was content lounging on the back porch.

Towards the end he was content lounging on the back porch.

Jasper struggled to move towards the end of his life. He had to be carried down stairs to the yard.

Jasper struggled to move towards the end of his life. He had to be carried down stairs to the yard.

Jasper could not enjoy life anymore. RIP beloved Jasper

Jasper could not enjoy life anymore.

Loving wishes from Elizabeth after Jasper's final trip to the vet.

Loving wishes from Elizabeth after Jasper’s final trip to the vet.

From → Dogs

11 Comments
  1. marti permalink

    Jasper was a great dog… I remember him from the early days when I used to come visit you in Westford 🙂 marti

  2. Kate permalink

    of course i love not only the words, but the photos and comic strips….the combo is wonderful!……
    thank you for this reminder to take time to treasure and reminisce….KDB

    • Thanks so much for reading this. This is an old post that I stumbled upon. I put lots of time into it, especially finding the photos and the comic frames from so long ago. But it will be a good family memento.

  3. Sam permalink

    I still love this post. Showing Jasper’s life with the kids means so much.

    • Is this really you, Sam? I was actually looking at this post and thinking how precious it is. I was trying to upload one of the photos to Facebook but it got messed up. Great minds think alike. Love you

  4. Your style is really unique compared to other people I’ve read stuff from. I appreciate you for posting when you have the opportunity, Guess I will just book mark this page.

    • Thank you Hiking California Mountains. I am quirky and I get bored reading blogs with content only on one narrow subject. In fact, I am trying to come up with a name for a blog I will launch over in Blogger that would allow my more off-beat style. How do you like Bushwhacking through Life or Ambling and Rambling or Jumping into Puddles or And Speaking of? I like writing about dogs, hiking, gardens, travel, misadventures both hiking and otherwise, things that happen and how I look at things because of my ADD and more. What types of blogs do you search for an enjoy?

  5. Sam permalink

    Jasper was a terrific, gentle dog. I think we might have heard him bark two or three times during his entire life. Of course that made teaching to “speak” problematic too.

  6. Thanks for your comment. I appreciate it for such a heartfelt family story

  7. Lorna Hardy permalink

    I love this story.

Leave a Reply

BillHillmann.net

Retriever Training with Bill Hillmann

Debra Paulson

Reflections on a Life in Motion

M. K. Waller

~ Telling the Truth, Mainly

Outdoors Indoors--Bringing the Outdoors Indoors to Enjoy

A site for outdoor enthusiasts who love hiking, nature, dogs and photography. Woodmont Labrador retrievers posts are now included here.

Labrador Mama

For dog lovers and labrador owners. All furry babies welcome.

Megan Has OCD

About Mental Health, Daily Struggles, and Whatever Else Pops in My Head

Ruby the black labrador

Journal of a dog's life and other musings

rachelmankowitz

The Cricket Pages

ghostnapped

Ashley Howland Author WordPress.com site