Skip to content

Higgins Beach, Scarborough, Maine

April 21, 2013

Golden Retrievers visiting the beach on the coast of Maine… They have never been ocean dogs. They are New Hampshire forest, field, river and lake dogs…

Two Dogs at Higgins Beach, Maine.

Strolling Higgins Beach just before sunset.

Strolling Higgins Beach just before sunset.

The dogs meet up with friendly dogs

The dogs meet up with friendly dogs

Took Emma and Cabot up to Maine to stay overnight with my daughter. Emma and Cabot were cautious which I might expect because of their limited beach expeditions. We visited Higgins at night and then again the next day at low tide when shells, seaweed, driftwood and the shipwreck became visible.

Shipwreck on Higgins Beach is visible at low tide.

Shipwreck from August 1897

Shipwreck from August 1897

“The ship was the Howard W. Middleton, strongly built of white oak and yellow pine in 1882 at Camden, New Jersey, a really noble ship. It had left Philadelphia on August 2nd with 894 tons of coal for Peter Nickerson and Company in Portland, Maine.”–a description of the shipwreck by Emma Bray David years later in December 1967 a child witness to the wreck. Look below for her story.

Cabot checking in with me to see what I think.

“What’s this?”

Image

“I guess I can get closer to check it out. Emma already decided it is okay.”

“Hmm, I wonder what this was used for.”

It became evident how quickly they are aging when I saw younger dogs frisking and frolicking on the beach. Really scary and sad.  I saw my two dogs who have romped, rolled and retrieved for many years exhibiting limited mobility, resistance to cold water, struggle with the uneven, sandy beach surface, no desire to retrieve… just plain hesitant.

Emma and Cabot. "Brother and Sister" for 10 plus years.

Emma and Cabot. “Brother and Sister” for 10 plus years.

Hard to get a good photo of Cabot. He tends to hang out closer to me when he sees me with a camera out.

Hard to get a good photo of Cabot. He tends to hang out closer to me when he sees me with a camera out.

Emmy is known for her spunk and independence. It is hard to watch her slow down and struggle.

Emmy is known for her spunk and independence. It is hard to watch her slow down and struggle.

I hope she enjoyed moments of our beach trip.

I hope she enjoyed moments of our beach trip.

Dogs at Higgins Beach (40)

Her feet might be sore but having time to explore new terrain was probably worth it.

 

Please click on my Find More Information Here Page for photos of the wreck at other times and the journal entry about the wreck written by a young girl living in Scarborough at the time.

From → Dogs, New England

6 Comments
  1. Sam permalink

    Fantastic information and story on your More Information page. Hope people find it.

    • Yes, I think I need to go back to the post and edit it to make the link stand out because I love the information about the wreck.

    • Hope this link directly to the information works. If not click on the “More information” button on top.

  2. Sam permalink

    Wish I had been there.

  3. I can see them thinking as they stare at the shells.

    • Yes. New experience for them. Pine cones, leaves and fresh water are their usual scents. The first night they drank salt water before I could catch them. They did not do that again the next day…

Leave a Reply

BillHillmann.net

Retriever Training with Bill Hillmann

Debra Paulson

Reflections on a Life in Motion

M. K. Waller

~ Telling the Truth, Mainly

Outdoors Indoors--Bringing the Outdoors Indoors to Enjoy

A site for outdoor enthusiasts who love hiking, nature, dogs and photography. Woodmont Labrador retrievers posts are now included here.

Labrador Mama

For dog lovers and labrador owners. All furry babies welcome.

Megan Has OCD

About Mental Health, Daily Struggles, and Whatever Else Pops in My Head

Ruby the black labrador

Journal of a dog's life and other musings

rachelmankowitz

The Cricket Pages

ghostnapped

Ashley Howland Author WordPress.com site